April 2, 2007 at 3:22 pm
· Filed under copyright-infringement, webhosting
Got a reply from Hostgator with regards to my DMCA complaint. It was one user with two accounts and they’ve both been suspended. Looking forward to seeing Google Adsense Inc’s response.
UPDATE: Got an apology from the user… in their opinion - he/she thinks that if site owners don’t want people to use their content, they should not use the RSS feed system on their website …and that they should not submit their feeds to www.feedster.com
Hello - i didn’t “submit” my feed to Feedster, and just because my RSS feed might’ve been picked up by them, it doesn’t make it ok for others to steal content from my site for commercial gain through their services.
Have submitted a complaint to Feedster.
I don’t know what RSS is, i can’t make sense of it. I’d ideally like it switched off if having it on makes people think it’s OK to infringe on copyright, but I don’t understand the benefits of it either.
I’m so sick of of these sploggers atm and i’m hardly the only one who feels that way. Bah. Just needed to fucking vent as it’s put me into a downright foul mood to spend so much time formulating the DMCA. The upside, is that i’ve learnt how to do one and it’s been good to see positive action taken.
UPDATE: Recieved good feedback from Feedster with suggestions on how i can take some measures to stop engines crawling the site.
Thanks Mrs.Lifecruiser for helping me to understand how the RSS feed functions better and how i can turn the ruddy thing off in Wordpress. Enjoying what i’ve learnt through the experience by choosing to do something about it and it appears that I still have a lot more learn!
I edit my posts A LOT too! Always reviewing my use language & proof reading all the time. I spend more time editing that i do writing, so i hope that’s not sending notices to others that “something new” has popped up on my site when i’ve just changed a few words or sentences around! :O
tpv
Read the rest of this entry »
Permalink
March 28, 2007 at 10:55 am
· Filed under copyright-infringement, webhosting
Received an email from the Abuse Administrator from Hostgator and a formal DMCA complaint has been forwarded against the sites listed here.
A formal DMCA complaint has also been forwarded to Google via postal mail as well. So far, so good, although it’s taken me over 4 hours to press forward with it. Have i wasted my time? Who knows what will happen next.
Permalink
March 27, 2007 at 6:11 pm
· Filed under copyright-infringement, webhosting
The following websites are guilty of copyright infringement for stealing content from my website and from other people’s blogs too.
http://www.agents3.info/two.htm
http://www.agents4.info/licenses.htm
http://www.agents5.info/Sickness.htm
http://www.agents6.info/place.htm
http://www.agents7.info/Please.htm
http://www.agents11.info/who.htm
http://www.base5.info/Journeys.htm
http://www.base7.info/Rainbow.htm
http://www.base12.info/power.htm
http://www.base13.info/autism.htm
http://www.base16.info/Lightning.htm
http://www.base16.info/March.htm
http://www.bay1.info/Doh-.htm
http://www.bay10.info/weather.htm
http://www.clicks13.info/Because.htm
http://www.clicks15.info/hrs.htm
Many are displaying as internal server errors now, but i’ve reported many of them to Google.
How To Report Splogs To Google
You can report offending Splogs abusing Google Adsense by clicking the “Ads by Goo(ooooo)gle” link that’s listed near the advertisements. At the next screen, you’ll see a link at the bottom where it says: “Send Google your thoughts on the site or the ads you just saw” - click that and you’ll see a link where you can report the Google Adsense violation & copyright infringement as well.
I’ve done a whois search on all of these domain names but I can’t access any details to contact the owners. The only tangible contact information I can find is that the sponsoring registrar for ALL of them is:
Direct Information Pvt. Ltd. d/b/a PublicDomainRegistry.com (R159-LRMS)
No luck in finding more info at http://www.publicdomainregistry.com
I spoke to live support at http://www.hostgator.com asking if the websites could be hosted with this service because ALL of the DNS name servers of these SPLOGS were pointing to:
Name Server:NS446.HOSTGATOR.COM
Name Server:NS445.HOSTGATOR.COM
Live support said that it probably was hosted with www.hostgator.com and gave me an email address to forward a complaint. Just sent my email to Hostgator - so here’s hoping that i can gain some assistance in pursuing the matter further.
Angsuman’s Feed Copyrighter plugin for Wordpress has been useful with embeding the copyright at the end of my posts on the splogs.
Does anyone know how to impose fines for content theft?
Like, not happy - but i’m definitely doing something about it now!
UPDATE 27/03/07 6:33PM: Email received from Hostgator that the issue has been forwarded to abuse.
Permalink